Select Page



The Curtis / Poole Award started in 2009, in memory of two long-standing and colourful characters of the NZIPP,

Brian Curtis and Richard Poole. Both were Honorary Fellows of the organisation and contributed much to both the Institute and New Zealand photography in general.

Each year the Curtis / Poole Award is presented to the NZIPP region that scores the highest aggregate from their four top-performing members’ highest-scoring entries, across any of the main categories.

Fully financial NZIPP Accredited and Affiliate Members are eligible to represent their region for this award, excluding Student
Category entrants.

The representatives of the winning NZIPP region will each receive a certificate.


NZIPP member Janay Johnstone began her working life as a graphic designer, then launched her newborn photography career in 2015 after the birth of her own son.

A talented photographer, Janay was a vivacious person with a heart of gold. She became part of the Heartfelt volunteer network, visiting hospitals to photograph babies who were seriously ill or had died during birth. Janay and her own unborn baby girl sadly passed away together on March 6, 2019.

This award has been established by the NZIPP in conjunction with Janay’s husband Mark, and her family, to honour Janay.

Finalists are determined based on the top three highest-scoring newborn entries in any of the main categories, excluding the Student Category. The entry that judges deem to best represent the criteria is the award winner.

Once a decision has been reached it is final.
The winner will receive a certificate and be presented with the Janay Johnstone Memorial Award trophy.

For the purpose of this award, a ‘newborn’ is defined as an infant up to three months of age; as calculated from
the date of delivery if full term (37–42 weeks), or from the due date if premature.


The World Photographic Cup (WPC) was founded in 2013 as a cooperative effort by The Federation of European Photographers (FEP) and Professional Photographers of America (PPA). Its singular goal is to unite photographers in a spirit of friendship and cooperation. Professional photographic bodies from around the world are each
year invited to select and enter images, in a range of genres, to represent their organisation and country.

World Photographic Cup Entry Selection
The NZIPP Team entries are selected from the top-scoring images from the current year’s Iris Awards, and based on the WPC category and overall entry criteria. Where an entry does not meet this criteria, a prospective entrant chooses not to participate, or an entrant does not respond to an invitation within the specified time
frame, the next eligible entry is considered.
Three images per WPC category are entered. Only one entry per person per category is allowed, but an entrant may have an entry in multiple WPC categories.

WPC entry selection, made by members of the NZIPP Honours Council and/or their nominated person(s), is final and no correspondence will be entered into.

To be eligible to represent the NZIPP and NZ in the WPC, an entrant:
» Must be a fully financial Accredited Professional Member of the NZIPP, at both the time of entry into the
Iris Awards and the time of final WPC selection;
» Must be a New Zealand citizen and reside permanently in New Zealand.

Share This